Learning to speak italian.

Are you a new member on Impariamo.com? Or perhaps you signed up a while ago, but you haven't posted yet? Introduce yourself here!
Matteo

Learning to speak italian.

Post by Matteo »

Hey everyone. My name is Matt. I am an undergrad student about to attend my first year of University. My family can speak fluent italian, though english is the main language at home. This has always bothered me. I would like to learn italian and be able to hold a basic conversation as soon as possible. I would like to use forums to practice writing skills, and my family to speak.

At the moment I have only a very small knowledge of the language, what would you guys suggest be the best way to begin, just dive right in using a dictionary and attempt to respond?

Thanks,
Matt
coffeecup

Post by coffeecup »

ciao matteo e benvenuto! :D

I would suggest you learn some basic verbs (like parlare, andare, volere, potere, bere, etc..) and pronouns (io, tu, lui/lei, noi, voi and loro) and start working on grammar (firstly present tense) and sentence structure.

From there, you'll be able to build up a good grammatical base, but it would also be a good idea to just memorise some useful phrases too.

I would also listen to everything italian you can find. RAI, italian songs, italian programs, podcasts, everything. Little kids learn by listening, even if they don't understand it all, and to pick up a new language you need to go back to basics just like a little kid.

Most importantly, practice, practice, practise and ENJOY! :D

We're here to help with any questions you might have.

In bocca al lupo! Good luck!

la tazzina xx
без тебя я не я. нас никогда не догонят! я тебя люблю.
Massimo

Post by Massimo »

Ciao Matteo, and welcome to the forum. You've joined the right place to start improving your Italian! We're all here to help :D