Language Prep

Join us here for some fun chit chat, or share your opinions on rumours and gossip in the news. Beginners and advanced Italian speakers are all welcome!
Netminder30

Language Prep

Post by Netminder30 » Thu Nov 08, 2007 6:30 am

I will be traveling to Italy in approximately 6 weeks. :D This will be my first trip there and also my first experience trying to speak the language in real life settings with native Italian speakers. I am a beginner-intermediate level student of Italian. (English is my native language.) I have been studying Italian on my own for the last 5 months and, with the help of my knowledge of Spanish, have found that I have picked up things pretty quickly.

In anticipation of my trip, I have been focusing on spoken Italian. I use the Pimsleur Language Program daily, usually for 1-2 hours. I have gotten through the first two courses and should begin the third course in the next week or so. I also use the Living Language course to further improve my speaking and vocabulary. Finally, I supplement the verbal practice with grammar study, verb drills and reading where possible, although demands at work make it hard for me to do this consistently (I can listen to the CD courses during my commute so I do this regularly.)

With only six weeks to go before my trip, l would be interested in people's thoughts on the best way to improve my Italian skills in a short period of time. My goal is to become as functional as possible with the language -- be able to ask simple questions, order food in a restaurant, check into a hotel, buy items in a store, get around town, etc.. Is Pimsleur a good study method for this? Are there other courses, books or tricks that can help me prepare? Obviously, the study of Italian is a vast undertaking. I am trying to pare it down to the absolute essentials over the next six weeks or so.

Thanks in advance for your responses. :)

Roby

Post by Roby » Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:30 am

Hi there, Try this link.