Hello from the US...also a question for expert speakers

Are you a new member on Impariamo.com? Or perhaps you signed up a while ago, but you haven't posted yet? Introduce yourself here!
VTBrandon

Hello from the US...also a question for expert speakers

Post by VTBrandon »

My name is Brandon and i'm a university student. I've been to Italy twice and fell in love with the culture and the language. Also, my mom's side of the family is Italian so i thought I'd pick up a little just for family sake. Anyway here's my question. I'm a fluent Spanish speaker and I understand the concepts of linguistics, syntax, language families, and grammar very well also. How hard will Italian be for a fluent Spanish speaker who also understands linguistics?
disegno

Post by disegno »

Ciao, well I imagine that you would have an advantage knowing Spanish, as it is a romance language. But, I don't know Spanish personally, so can't tell you this from experience. I can however, tell you that 5 years of German was no help at all with my Italian language learning experience! :roll: Buona fortuna! In bocca al lupo!
Chi canta a tavola e fischia a letto e' matto perfetto.
Roby

Post by Roby »

Welcome to the forum. With your knowledge of Spanish, being that it is a romantic language, it will be helpful some. However, I must tell you that while I was taking Italian courses at school , there were many Spanish speaking students in the class. They comprehended the language easier because of the similarities, but they had more trouble with the speaking and writing part because they would think in Spanish and conjugate in Spanish. I believe you will do just fine. Just remember the different conjugations and the different words ( many sound the same , but have different spellings.)
Roby
"Per raro che sia, il vero amore e' meno raro della vera amicizia."

"As rare as true love is, it is not as rare as true friendship."
- François de La Rochefoucauld
Netminder30

Post by Netminder30 »