Problem Listening

Have a question about Italian grammar? Need a quick translation from Italian to English or vice versa? Post it here!
Melissa489

Problem Listening

Post by Melissa489 » Mon Oct 20, 2008 11:31 am

Hi All
I am currently studying italian, sometimes you think you are doing well in a class but when you watch an italian movie without subtitles they speak so fast. I often wonder if im not grasping the language at all
In everyones learning experience, whats the best way to understand italian when watching a film or listening to someone speak. I have tried watching a scene over and over and to try to pickup some words and using the subtitles text file.

grazie!
Melissa

Devery

Post by Devery » Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:48 pm

Listening is probably the hardest thing to "learn" when it comes to a language.
Sometime I feel the same way. If there is a different dialect or even a different cadence I have a hard time understanding.
The best thing you can do is surround yourself with it.
--You can go to Rai.it and watch sitcom shows online.
--Try to purchase or check out (library) as many Italian lessons WITH audio CD's.
--We live in America and we recently purchased a DVD player that can play PAL formats--the European format (in America we have a NTSC format). So now we can play DVD's from Italy.
--Maybe find some friends on Skype and chat with them in Italian (I'm sure you can find someone here).
--See if there are any classes locally that teach Italian. Here where I live they have a class where no one can speak English, the whole lesson is done in Italian.

There are tons of things you can do. The most important thing to do is just surround yourself with Italian. How do you think kids learn a language? It's because they are around it every day. You can't learn a language by going to a class once a week. You literally have to throw yourself in; surround yourself.

:wink:

umberto

Post by umberto » Mon Oct 20, 2008 6:20 pm