Video to watch for practice

Have a question about Italian grammar? Need a quick translation from Italian to English or vice versa? Post it here!
Andrew

Video to watch for practice

Post by Andrew » Thu Jan 01, 2009 1:39 pm

Felice Anno Nuovo a tutti!

I have a quick question; does anyone know where I could find video (of anything, news, TV shows, sport, as long as it's spoken reasonably slowly) that I can download and put on a portable player or something? I've had a go at RAIclick but for some reason my internet connection doesn't deal well with streaming it. I'm just trying to find something I can watch repeatedly on the train or at home so I can practice my listening skills.

Cheers for your help!
Please correct me when I attempt to use Italian, I'm still learning :)

giuseppe

Post by giuseppe » Thu Jan 01, 2009 2:14 pm

Just open iTunes Store and you will find find lots of free Italian podcasts (audio or video), Rai included.
Here is a screenshot from the video section:
and there are many more. They don't speak 'slowly' though...
My candle burns at both ends
It will not last the night
But ah, my foes, and oh, my friends
It gives a lovely light.

Devery

Post by Devery » Thu Jan 01, 2009 6:18 pm

Cyn posted this site a couple of days ago:
http://www.text-to-speech.imtranslator.net/

You could always take any and every text you find (maybe from Corriere della Sera), copy and paste it, and listen to how it is spoken. I know it's not a video, nor is it perfect, but I don't see why this would be a bad way to get a feel for the spoken word.

Besides Rai online, I don't know of any other free services out there in a video format.