I would like to learn dialect 'o nnapulitano.

Have a question about Italian grammar? Need a quick translation from Italian to English or vice versa? Post it here!
Chris Corbyn

I would like to learn dialect 'o nnapulitano.

Post by Chris Corbyn » Mon Feb 08, 2010 1:51 am

So it's officially a language as of recent, and it certainly has a very distinctive (and beautiful) sound, but where can I even begin to learn about this beautiful regional language/dialect?

I'm still learning standard Tuscan Italian, but I would like to start throwing in a little bit of basic dialect, purely for fun and because I am interested in the richness of the dialects used throughout Italy. It's also quite fun (for me) because not so many people bother to learn dialects, probably because they can't put them to use very easily these days. Neapolitan (nnapulitano) is very widely used however, and there is certainly a lot of it in use in music, so I'd love to have a basic understanding of it and how it differs from standard Italian.

I'll be visting Napoli and Sorrento in June, so I'd be interested to keep my ears open (so to speak) and try to hear it in use while I'm there.

Can anybody point me to any useful resources, that go beyond the extreme basics? I've tried to find textbooks and dictionaries to no avail. I suspect proper learning material will only just be starting to make an appearance since it was only recently officially considered to be a language.
Last edited by Chris Corbyn on Tue Feb 09, 2010 3:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Chris Corbyn

Post by Chris Corbyn » Mon Feb 08, 2010 1:54 am

Also, learning resources written in Italian (bi-lingual dictionaries, textbooks, audio CDs), as opposed to be English would be fine for me. This would actually make it a little more interesting since I'd be improving my italiano at the same time as learning nnapulitano.

Geoff

Post by Geoff » Mon Feb 08, 2010 3:32 am